30 Days to Happiness: N is for: 8 Reasons I Want Your Name

NI like to play the game of collecting names, attaching some information about the person to the name, and then trying to remember the name. It’s part of my work, but it’s an exercise in using my mind, as well as an exercise in reaching out to others. Our names are important to us, and by sharing our names we put value on people. It is definitely a work in progress. I’ll let you know how it goes.

8 Reasons I Want Your Name

1. When I know your name, my mind creates a file to put all of the interesting information I learn about you.

2. When I know your name, I acknowledge that you are an individual, a special person to the Lord.

3. Knowing your name brings us a step closer to friendship.

4. If I know your name, I can use it, and that puts value on you.

5. Your name is important to you.

6. If I feel like praying for you, I have a name to use.

7. It’s fun to see if you look like your name.

8. It might give us something to talk about.

So friend, what is your name? Do you like your given name? Do you have a nickname? I am guessing many of you know what your name means, and that means something to you. Feel free to share. You can just call me “Princess.”

SharySignatureA to Z Badge

3 comments

  1. Hi Princess!
    My extended family would always insist on using my full name of Steven, despite, as an adult, my wanting to be called ‘Steve’!
    My Mum always called me ‘Steve-o’, and my Dad would call me ‘Von’ or ‘Vonsky’. They’ve both passed away now, so their own names for me are something I will always treasure.

  2. I very much enjoyed reading this. Dale Carnegie says a name is the sweetest sound to its owner. When we use someone’s name, we echo that sweet sound to whom it belongs to which demonstrates their importance. Thanks for the wonderful article Sharon 🙂

    1. Joe, It is always good to hear from you. I hope your year is going well! I just wondered if you have ever done anything like an A to Z Challenge or if you would be interested in 500 Words a Day Challenge. I am doing both of those, although do not get in 500 words every day. Both groups offer a great community of encouragers like yourself. You would add a great deal to the group. If you are interested, search “My 500 Words” on Facebook or go to http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/what-is-blogging-from-to-z.html for the A to Z Challenge website. There are so many on the A to Z that I usually communicate with that segment of “My 500 Words” on Facebook. You and I write to the same audience I believe, those positive thinking, encourager-type who want to prosper and succeed. I think you will like my “P is for Prosperity.” Anyway, thanks for stopping by and the best to you and your family!

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?