30 Days to Happiness: P is for Prosperity

PBiblical Prosperity:

  • Ruth gleans in the field and there is more for her to glean each day. She marries Boaz, the owner of the field. Ruth 2
  • Joseph was thrown in a pit, but becomes second in command of Egypt and ends up providing for the family who threw him in the pit. Genesis 37-50
  • Isaac plants crops in the land and the same year reaps a hundredfold. Genesis 26:12
  • Jesus has Peter get a coin out of a fish’s mouth. Matthew 17:27
  • Jesus feeds 5000 people with a basket of loaves and fishes. John 6
  • Jesus turns water to wine. John 2:1-11

When we moved to Myrtle Beach in 2006, we literally stepped out in faith. We really didn’t have the money to make it work. We had said “we only need two jobs and a house to make this happen.” We came with only one job and a three story townhouse we rented on the beach. I walked the beach and prayed while Larry worked.  I felt that God had told me He would give me a job that I would love, and I thanked him for that in prayer. Thirty days after we arrived I started work at a job I loved, and I continue to enjoy and prosper in it.

As I walked the beach, I meditated on scripture like John 15:7, “If you abide in me and my words abide in you, you shall ask what you will, and it shall be done unto you.” I also let these thoughts roll over and over in my mind until they flowed like a river:

  • Provision, Increase, Abundance
  • Every bill is paid on time, and we have plenty for everything we need.
  • Abundance
  • Favor, increase, success, abundance

Later I continued to embrace these thoughts and would consciously think them hundreds of times a day, sometimes even making tally marks to count off by tens. Even now when I think these words, it gives me a sense of comfort and joy. I don’t understand the workings of the mind and spirit, but I believe God has made a way for us to develop our faith by creating pathways, belief systems in our brain. When our thoughts (which should reflect our desires) are  sufficiently established as beliefs, God then brings  into reality those things we believe. Scripture says it this way,

For verily I say unto you, That whosoever shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; and shall not doubt in his heart, but shall believe that those things which he saith shall come to pass; he shall have whatsoever he saith.24 Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.

We have increased our income every year. We are not wealthy, yet, but we have everything we need, and God continues to bless us. Once I heard the Lord say, “Will you do good with my money?” He wants to bless those who “will do good with His money.” It is good to remember that it is His money.

You don’t necessarily have to develop your faith the way I did with thinking the scripture and thoughts hundreds of times. Picturing abundance and prosperity or simply accepting it as true can build your faith as well. The key is to believe and not doubt.  Just be watchful that you are not thinking lack because the thoughts you think are surely going to become what you believe, and that is exactly what you will receive. I like to use repetition because it builds a barrier against negative thoughts. As long as I am busy with positive thoughts and scripture, there is no time or room for negative thoughts to come in.

My final words of encouragement for you on this tonight are to not be afraid of prosperity. Don’t be afraid to ask for it, pray for it, think about it, and expect it. As long as you “will do good with His money and remember it is His money” you have nothing to fear. He wants to bless you just as He blessed Ruth, Joseph, Isaac and countless others. Your good heartedness at not wanting to be selfish or materialistic can actually be a deception of the enemy to keep you from being blessed. The enemy does not want you to be blessed. You can be quite sure of that.Get into agreement with what God wants for you. He delights in blessing you, and according to 3 John 2, He wants you to prosper and be in health even as your soul prospers.Remember, He loves you!

What are your thoughts on prosperity? Were you born into a prosperous family? Can you share any advice on how one might prosper? Any important principles you have learned along your way?

A to Z BadgeSharySignature

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

