Terror by Night

Psalm_91_3If you have ever wakened in the night with terror in your heart, paralyzed with fear, and overcome with the very presence of darkness, then what you are about to read will help you. If you have ever walked with a vague sense that something bad was going to happen, or if you have been plagued with an uneasiness you could not explain, then what you are about to read will help you. If you have ever felt certain that doom and destruction were imminent, then what you are about to read will help you.

3030 Joyce MeyersBeginning March 1, I joined Joyce Meyer’s 3030 Bible Challenge. One hundred fifty minutes later, I can now quote to you in forty-five seconds or less the entire first eight verses of Psalm 91. For five nights, I spent only thirty  minutes working at memorizing, reviewing, meditating, and picturing these verses. On the fourth and fifth nights the insights you are about to read came to me. The first half of the Psalm is now officially mine and my life is enriched. I invite you to join me, visit “my” Psalm and add your insights in the comments at the bottom of the page. Come with me to the secret place.

Psalm91-1Psalm 91: 1, 2 He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High, “he” is that one who gets as close to God as he can possibly get, clinging and cleaving to Him, holding on tight, and staying there where he is safe.  He is abiding under the shadow of the almighty, whispering, “You are my refuge, my fortress, my God, in You will I trust. I’m clinging tightly because I trust you. Being this close to you, I can hear only You. No longer do I hear the negative voices from the enemy, only Your voice, Your voice of freedom and truth, guidance, wisdom, joy, peace, love.”

Psalm 91-3Psalm 91: 3 Surely He shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler and from the noisome pestilence. “You, O Lord, will deliver me from every evil imaginable. As I stay close to you, You will strengthen me and equip me and pour Your love through me. Perfect love casts out fear and being close to you is what protects me from evil. I am able to overcome evil with good because You strengthen me, and you show me the way.”

feathers1Psalm 91:4 “You cover me with your feathers and  under your wings I trust. “I can’t see anything or anyone but You; I’m under your wings . I’m trusting You to guide me and show me the way, and tell me everything I need to know. I’ll just wait right here and if we go anywhere, we go together. I’m staying right here.”

Your truth is my shield and buckler. “Knowing and believing what You say about something is what protects me and deflects the arrows and swords of the enemy. It keeps me safe from spiraling downward with negative thinking and wrong beliefs.”

Psalm 91Psalm 91: 5-8  Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day; Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday. A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

And He says to me, “You don’t have to be afraid of anything at all. Even if you see or hear of evil things going on, even if it seems like it is getting very close to you, do not fear. It will not come near enough to hurt you. You will see how evil falls upon the wicked, but I will keep you safe, because You stay close to me and trust in me. Have no fear because I am your refuge and your fortress, your God, in Whom you trust. I will not let you down. I will not fail you nor forsake you.”

Looking forward to Psalm 91:9-16

Have a wonderful day,  and let’s see how close we can get to our Father who promises us His love and protection.

SharySignature

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

