Up for a Fight

“It’s Five Minute Friday where I join Lisa-Jo Baker and the #FMFParty girls to write flat out for five minutes. No editing, no polishing, and then link up together. Come join the fun!” This week’s topic is “Fight.” This is only my second time connecting with this crowd, so yes, I edited some and polished some, trying to make a good impression. Don’t worry, I’ll get over it. Great topic, and I love reading what others wrote about the subject so here goes for my Five Minute Friday friends. I missed you in December. I hope your holidays were amazing.

As I think about the new year and I think about “fight,” I have to say that I am ready for a fight. I fully expect this to be the greatest year we have ever had so far, yet I do not expect a “walk in the park,” though I will surely take one or two. And I don’t expect a bed of roses, though I fully anticipate a vase or two of long-stem red roses to grace my dining room table on occasion. I am up for a fight, but it is a fight that has already been won. About a week before Christmas, I was in the kitchen and the Spirit of the Lord came upon me. As I prayed, I spoke to the enemy saying, “No, you can not mess with my family. We will walk in victory, health, and prosperity, peace and joy in the coming year.” I was reminded that the authority has been given to us, and we can declare the works of the Lord in 2014. Jesus has already won the fight, and we walk in victory.

risk3As we were praying tonight, I could see, in my imagination,the game of Risk that I had played with Rocky, Nick, and Jay over the Christmas holidays. I saw each territory as ground that the Lord wants us to take. He reenforces our armies every day, and we can confront any area with faith. We can win and take ground every day. Victory is ours, saith the Lord of hosts.

Risk1Today’s Verse: When you go out to battle against your enemies, and see horses and chariots and people more numerous than you, do not be afraid of them; for the Lord your God is with you, who brought you up from the land of Egypt. So it shall be, when you are on the verge of battle, that the priest shall approach and speak to the people. And he shall say to them, “Hear, O Israel: Today you are on the verge of battle with your enemies. Do not let your heart faint, do not be afraid, and do not tremble or be terrified because of them; for the Lord your God is He who goes with you, to fight for you against your enemies, to save you.” Deuteronomy 20:1-4

Five Minute FridaySharySignature

3 comments

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

