“My Word for the Year” by the Ranger Dog

Hi! I’m Ranger!

Ranger1My GrandMom, Sharon, asked me to fill in for her tonight. She’s read a couple of blogs by “animals” lately so she had this bright idea. I thought it was kind of silly. What human really wants to hear what a dog has to say, especially a Brittany Spaniel like myself?

I’m sure it’s not that they don’t care what we think, it’s just that they don’t really believe we do think. Humans would really be surprised if they only knew what we think about. I’m going to go ahead and use this opportunity to tell you a little bit about what I think, and then give you my word for the year which is what GrandMom asked me to do.

First, in case you don’t know anything about my breed, here’s an excerpt from an article about Brittany Spaniels:

The Brittany is intelligent and easy to handle. It is a loving and gentle animal; obedient and always eager to please. Happy and alert, this vigorous breed is a very active and enthusiastic hunter. Affectionate, yet independent; it is a free-thinker. Good-natured and easy to care for.

Ranger3You can clearly see that I am intelligent enough to handle writing this article, and you get the idea of how loving, gentle, and obedient I am. No wonder I am so loved by DadNick and MomTaylor. I think about this a lot.  I think about where is DadNick and MomTaylor when they are not here. I think about why “E” is so little, and why she sneaks up on me and grabs my hair. I think about how life changed since she came to the house. I’m not sure where they got her. It sure wasn’t the place they got me. She looks a lot different than my other brothers and sisters.

Ranger2Life is good here with DadNick and MomTaylor. I know they love me. They take great care of me and little “E” is so cute. I think about her a lot. I have to really watch out for her. You never know what she’s going to do.  I think about that a lot, but mostly I think about chasing things. I’ll chase about anything. I chase butterflies, balls, not cars. Mostly balls.

Ranger4This all brings me to my word for the year. It is “energy.” I have a lot of energy. I know it looks like I relax a lot. I can be calm. I can put my head on DadNick and MomTaylor’s lap and rest quite peacefully, but most of all I want to go out and run and run and run and use up some of my energy.

I chose that word because I want to have energy. Without energy, I would just lie around and never accomplish anything. I would pretty much be good-for-nothing, and I don’t want anyone saying that about me. I want to use my energy and catch as many balls as I can. I want to jump up and lick as many people and things as I can. I want to have a life full of jumping, licking, and chasing. I want the same thing for you, and that is what GrandMom wanted me to tell you.

So now you know a little bit about me and how I think. You know I’m smart, obedient, happy and healthy, and I have a great family! And you know my word for the year is “energy.”

Here’s the message:

Relax, love your family, be kind to babies and all animals and chase your dream with energy.

That’s right go after it, just like I go after my dream, a ball. When DadNick throws it, I run and run till I get it, and then I bring it back to him. I think humans are supposed to go after the dream they have in their hearts, and then bring it back to God because that is exactly what He wants them to do. I know you didn’t expect me to get all philosophical on you, but when you have all this time to think and no one is thinking you’re thinking, you can really get philosophical.

Now it’s your turn to think about what I said, and go out and chase your dream.  GrandMom is collecting comments here, so let us know what your word is for the year or what your dream for your life is. Or just say hello, and maybe she’ll let me come back again.

Uh, am I supposed to put a scripture verse here? Okay, just a minute, let me think. Here’s one:

Today’s Verse: Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might. Ecclesiastics 9:10

Do this: Remember my word “Energy.” Use it to chase your dream.Ranger

Yours truly,

Ranger

 

 

12 comments

    1. Oh yes, his energy is indeed inspiring! I’ll look forward to reading what you write. I don’t believe i have read anything yet. Will look for you! Thanks for stopping by. Ranger is getting quite the fan club.

  1. Thank you Ranger for letting us into your thoughts. I’ve always believed animals think (and used to talk when Aslan walked in Narnia). Your GrandMom was very kind to give space for your thoughts. I appreciate your word Energy; it makes good sense to go out and chase my dream and bring it back to God. My word is Resolve; I know what I need and want to do to move toward my dream. I need resolve to do it! Thanks again GrandMom; I think Ranger has valuable things to say. Hope you’ll let him write again!

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

