Somebody Do Something!

This is for those who have any problem, very small or very large. It may be anything from needing more money, to a job, a new friend, or even healing of a serious illness.

Yes, you have a problem. Yes, you have to deal with it. Yes, God will solve your problem. Yes, you have to have faith. Yes, you have to do something.mark1124

I just recently realized I had a mistaken idea about faith. I have studied faith and meditated on it, and I believe I have lived and acted on it most of my life. I like to fix things, and I like to be happy, so if something is broken or someone is not happy, I am immediately looking for the answer. The great news is I have found that God has all of the answers. I have also found that He doesn’t give them to me just because I need them, and often He doesn’t give them to me just because I ask for them. He wants more, and there is no way around it. I have to do something.

The mistake I made was in believing that ignoring a problem was faith. Just shutting down the thoughts about it because it brought me pain was not faith. Turning from the fear to think of something else wasn’t the answer that would set me free. It was like taking an aspirin, it could dull the pain, but never fix the problem. When a problem looms up in your life, you have to face up to it. That is how we grow.

prayer1Ignoring the problem does not make it go away. I thought it did there for awhile, but now I can see we must look that thing in the eye and get a picture of what we are really dealing with. Remember, you are not alone when you do this. Let God help you sort it out. What needs to happen here? What do you want to happen? What are my fears, and where did they come from? I can face my fear. I can face my problem. I don’t have to live with it; it won’t go away just by ignoring it. You must face up to it and with His help, you can do it. This is how you grow. His strength is made perfect in weakness, and He will not let you down.

Pretending it is not there, and saying, “Whatever” will not make the problem go away. It will go on and on for years and will keep you in the same place without having all that God has planned for you. It is overcoming adversity that makes you strong, not just ignoring it because it makes you feel uncomfortable and then just living with it and perpetuating it.

action1You do not have to let fear, depression, or any bad feelings overtake you when you look at your problem. You will feel uncomfortable at first. The enemy does not want you to face the problem. He pretty much likes things just the way they are. He can string you along and keep you down, making you feel miserable and trying to scare you out of doing anything at all, but there is a better way. Face the problem and any bad feelings associated with it, and plow ahead. Remember, you are not alone. God is with you! He will not fail you. All He needs from you is your Faith, your belief, your trust.

So if you must do something, what do you do? First, look your problem in the eye. See it for what it is without the drama the enemy wants to attach to it. It’s real, but it isn’t as bad as he will make you think it is. After you have faced it, then look past it to the solution. How will you feel when the problem is resolved. Finally, ask yourself what step you need to take to move in that direction. You are not going to be solving this problem yourself, God is well able to meet your need, but He does want you to take a step of faith in the right direction. Just try to do something each day that will keep you focused on the solution and will release your faith that God is solving it. Yes, somebody must do something, and you are the one to do it!

In “Do Something Part II,” you will see how exactly to develop the faith you need to face your problem and vanquish it from your life forever!  

action3Today’s Verse: Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Proverbs 3:5,6

Today’s Action: Choose one problem, big or small and look at it. Sort it out. Think about what it would look like when you have the solution to it. Think about how you will feel when it has been resolved. Think what the first very small step would be. Take that small step. In other words, do something.

Special Note:

I know what you are thinking: You simply cannot do it. The fear is too great. There is no way you can change. There is no way you can do the thing you know you need to do. There is no way this will ever change. Just do two things for me, please. First, consider the idea that what if you could do it? If you could do it, what would be one tiny step in that direction. You can always step back. Secondly, take that tiny step into the scary place and then reevaluate.

SharySignature

One comment

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

