Just Ask

ask1One day I was in the kitchen of our house when I was in high school. My friend had just gotten engaged and for some reason I absolutely remember and have remembered many times that I stood in that kitchen and in my heart asked God to give me a special marriage. I only remember praying that specific prayer once, and it was three or four years and boyfriends later when I met Larry. I could tell you more of the story, but suffice it to say that it has been an incredibly special marriage.

Sometimes we wish and hope and perhaps even dream, but the question is never formed.ask3 I tried to find out how many times the word “ask” is in the Bible and could not find the answer so I will send a prize to the first person who finds the answer to that question and sends it to me with documentation! For real! It will probably be a book.

Meditate the verse for today, and then go ahead and ask! God has told us to do it, so we have His permission. He is or should be our Best Friend. He might say “no,” “yes,” “maybe,” “not now,” but more times than you can count, His answer will be more than you could have ever imagined. I think He loves to surprise us with His Goodness, His Wisdom, His loving Provision and His Answers! And our joy will be indeed be full. So just ask!

Ask and you shall receive,

that your joy may be full.

John 16:24

Bible Challenge

Whether or not you currently acknowledge God, as the Creator of the universe or Jesus, as your Lord and Savior, the Bible offers life and truth that will bring encouragement and strength to you. I offer this challenge to encourage you to take a taste of these words of life and truth and then determine the value they can add to your life.

Bible Challenge: Say or Think “Today’s Verse” 100 times today. That’s just 10 x 10. You may think of it at ten different times during the day, and each time meditate or say the verse 10 times. If you haven’t completed the challenge by bedtime, tally up to 100. It’s also a good idea to read the entire chapter to get the whole story in context. Also, try picturing what the verse means to you personally and what God wants to say to you through it. It may be different for each of us. Let us know if you feel stronger or more encouraged. Look for Bible Challenges every few days. The first 26 will be verses for each letter of the alphabet. They will soon become your friends. When our blog becomes a book, : ) every other page will be a favorite verse or quote. Here’s today’s Bible Challenge. Let me know if you take the Challenge.

delightfulbibleAsk and you shall receive,

that your joy may be full.

John 16:24

6 comments

  1. i am so happy to see you blogging. I read this verse before school today while checking my email and God reminded me the importancse of getting His word grafted in our heart and souls.

Join the discussion. So glad you are here! What's on your mind?

